Being 30 is Awesome

IMG_2184 It’s like the feeling you always wish you had, but never seem to quite arrive at.  The ‘get it together’ you always put on your new years resolution list, but never quite seem to achieve because you’re not really sure what it means.  You have new years resolutions, AND you complete them.  In that year.  It’s amazing. After the American Society of Cut Flower Growers conference in Delaware this fall, (ASCFG), I came home equal parts overwhelmed and inspired.  If I’m being honest, more overwhelmed than inspired, as is the norm with most conference I attend.  Everyone seems to be doing SO MUCH amazing stuff, have SO MUCH figured out, and seem so capable of doing more!  Everyone is at least one zone warmer then me, except the Alaska Peony Growers, but they’ve got this whole other thing going on, which also seems really appealing and awesome, but we can talk about that later.  My 5’2″ frame, seems smaller then normal when I leave these conferences.  My farm clothes seem like a costume and I’m still the city slicker who thinks farming is so romantic and somehow thought I could mingle amongst these flower growing goddesses. But then…in the weeks that follow, all that I soaked up, slowly comes back out.  When I’m planning out the garden, when I’m picking out varieties, when I’m choosing mulch and compost.  When I look back at pictures, especially this time of year, of the bridal bouquets we made last summer.  They were so special, and we poured our hearts into them.  And anything you put your whole self into can never be fake, can never be a farce. IMG_2187 IMG_2188 On my 30th birthday, I moved.  Into the farmhouse where I grew my flowers last year.  I also planted, with my business partner, 500 some bulbs next to the house.  I painted two rooms, with my mother and her fiancé.  At the time, it just seemed like those were the things I needed to accomplish on that day, so I did.  Looking back, they seem much more symbolic then I intended (even though I love symbolic activities on important days) FullSizeRender IMG_2206 Above: saved seed from some favorite cosmos out of last years field, atop our seeding chart.  And our field currently, ammi from last year. Below:  the almighty, foxgloves, coming back for their second year, hopefully we will get to see these apricots beauties this year.  Biennials, how you taunt me.

Going into flower & bee’s third year, this will be the first season we are growing in the same place.  We get to see our biennials bloom, we get to plant perennials, we get to see if our poppies will in fact self sow.  We don’t have to move.  I don’t have to move.

The farther the roots go down the higher the stems can stretch.

Rooting down to rise up.

It is good to stay in the same place.

IMG_2208

One thought on “Being 30 is Awesome

  1. So very happy for you !! 

    From: wayfaring milkmaid To: maribeths@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, April 8, 2015 10:51 AM Subject: [New post] Being 30 is Awesome #yiv2875139038 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2875139038 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2875139038 a.yiv2875139038primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2875139038 a.yiv2875139038primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2875139038 a.yiv2875139038primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2875139038 a.yiv2875139038primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2875139038 WordPress.com | wayfaringmilkmaid posted: “It’s like the feeling you always wish you had, but never seem to quite arrive at.  The ‘get it together’ you always put on your new years resolution list, but never quite seem to achieve because you’re not really sure what it means.  You have new year” | |

Leave a Reply

